Seventh

February 1, 2010

cRPGs that had an impact on me

Filed under: gaming — anteolsson @ 23:12
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I think this is important stuff because whenever we take a little step forward in our lives we do so because we stand on the shoulders of giants, no matter the size of the giants. I have so much I want to write about these games that has influenced me, and even moved me, that I am thinking of dedicating a whole department to them. But for the moment these are some of the games that has affected me, starting with the one that has affected me most.

  1. Planescape: Torment
    I played this game the first time in 2009, my second time in 2010, and without exageration this is by far the best game and book that I have read in terms of how much it has in reality affected me. The game has so many levels of both intellectual and emotional aspects that I guess that you could replay this game (roleplaying wise) thousand times and still learn something new from it.
  2. The Witcher
    I followed this game for a long time before its release and had very high expectations for it. Those expectations were far exceeded by the experience of playing the game. It was the first time I was convinced of a story that was not about a hero but about someone that was Just a monster slayer. To play a game through the eyes of this witcher that has a supremely neutral world view was invogorating and it widened the world view for me as a game player and as a biased observer.
  3. Neverwinter Nights
    No matter what many people think about the original campaign in Neverwinter Nights, this was to me a real experience. It has probably a lot to do with that it was this game that brought me in to computer role playing gaming for real. Nonetheless, Aribeth de Thylmarande had a real emotional impact on the character I played, and eventually me which I think you never can escape. And the fact that her story ended and finally understood in the second expansion, Hordes of the Underdark, was just making it all better. All in all, I do not know why she was stuck in my mind but that is the way it is.
  4. Morrowind
    I do not dare count the hours I have spent in Vvardenfell. How one can spend ones time reading book after book that is a book in a game, that not necessarily has any weight on finishing the game, is probably understandable for many. This was the first game that showed me that a good story is a good story and that it does not matter if it is “real” or has any relevance or any purpose other than it being the purpose in it self. There was one book (or eight sequential books actually) in Morrowind that got stuck in my memory and that was Biography of the Wolf Queen. There were some real moments in that story that could sting you, if you would let it.
    The main story in itself was also just wonderful and it was finalised so well in the expansion.
  5. Gothic 3
    To be in the middle of a vast dessert and know that there are at least 100 slave traders wanting to destroy you feels quite good when you know that if you would do the exact same things again, you would do them exactly them same. Every quest has two sides and they are all tied up in the main plot and there is no way you can avoid the consequences, unless you deliberately abuse the mechanics. This game shows that actions has consequences and the ending just warps that whole concept upsidedown by leaving you with the question “Why did I do all this?”. In a way were you start thinking about the question and it can take you anywhere.
  6. Dragon Age: Origins
    This is probably the pinnacle of how attached you can get to the character you play in a modern computer role playing game. The choices did matter and your companions did mean something to you. At some points the choices were so difficult to make because you could really empathise with the characters. The game is also extreemely well made.
  7. Heroes of might and magic 4 – Half Dead
    Maybe technically the heroes of might and magic games are not role playing games but for me they are. To play someone who is half dead that is trying to make some sense in his world can have so many levels of meaning to it. He was a great character and I have always loved the stories and the writing in the heroes of might and magic games.
3 Comments »

  1. Heroes of Might and Magic: the games I always want to play, but suck badly at.

    Comment by Jensan — February 2, 2010 @ 18:21 | Reply

  2. You don’t suck, you just play them differently. Which game has left the biggest mark on you?

    Comment by anteolsson — February 2, 2010 @ 19:00 | Reply

  3. I have to say Morrowind, and the old Sierra-games (“… Quest”). And the first Neverwinter Nights.

    Comment by Jensan — February 3, 2010 @ 09:40 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

