April 20, 2010

The Rulebook is here!

Filed under: rules — anteolsson @ 09:55
Tags: , , , ,

It took some time to get this basic rulebook finished and maybe I should be honest about why it did take so long time. I have lately been busy with playing the all time classic Diablo 2 computer role playing game. The ladder season had just reset so I created a Hard Core character. I got her up to level 88 and got a quite good place in the ranking but she met her nemesis Nilathak and died. Now there is no more to playing Diablo 2 so I got back to working on Seventh again.

This Rulebook discusses a little bit about what the world is about and is aimed more at the fundamentals of the world rather than the particulars of the world. I hope it can be of some use to anyone reading it and if there are any questions regarding the content of the rulebook please file a comment.

You can download it here in PDF format: Seventh Rulebook

Consume it at Will,


February 18, 2010

Character Advancement: An example

Filed under: rules — anteolsson @ 09:00
Tags: , , , ,

Gruk is a character that is living in the world of Seventh. Gruk has always dreamed about going on adventures in forests and caves with his fathers Battle Axe slaying all the evil monsters he can find. He wants to be just as a good axe fighter as his dad.

Gruk heads out into the woods alone and it gets dark pretty quickly. He finds a giant Beaver that has read glowing eyes and wants to eat Gruk. Gruk runs up to the giant Beaver to get the first strike. Them two battle for a while and in the end Gruk comes out victories. For this Gruk has gets 50 “Unrefined Experience Points”

Gruk is happy that he killed the beast and is now curious to see what the rest of the forest hide. He eventually sees a Very very big beast, bigger than he had ever seen before. He runs towards the gigantic beast and chops at its legs and disables it. He then make a killing blow against its head. For this Gruk gets 1oo “Unrefined Experience Points”. Gruk now has a total of 150 “Unrefined Experience Points”.

Gruk finally comes to a little village and there he meets a woman called Marit, in big metall armour and holding an axe even bigger than Gruk. Gruk asks if Marit can show him some tricks. Marit agrees and shows Gruk how to start the swing of his axe while running so he can give extra power to the blow when the axe hits it target. Gruk has now learnt a special Axe Swing which he likes to call Marit’s Running Axe and he has increased his Combat Skill .To learn this Gruk has to use 100 of his “Unrefined Experience Points”. Now Gruk only have 50 “Unrefined Experience Points” left.

August 18, 2009

Logic For Game Rules

Filed under: Concepts,rules — anteolsson @ 21:36
Tags: , , , ,


I have been discussing the matter of game rules with myself and have discovered quite som interesting stuff. I will write a summary of them here but I will also post links to the whole discussion in the end.

The Combat System.
The chance to hit your target is determined by your experience with the weapon you are using. The Strength and Agility will also add a little bonus.

The way damage is calculated is Base Damage + Weapon Damage + Strength/2 when fighting with melee weapons but there is a limit to how much Strength you can utilize for any particular weapon.

Melee Weapon Damage is determined by the Weight, Size and Sharpness of the weapon. For Blunt weapons Sharpness is substituted by the grade of Bluntness, the less blunt the more damage. The Weight and Size determines what size of the die is used for Weapon Damage. There are 6 different sizes: d4, d6, d8, d10, d12 and d20. The Sharpness determines how many of that die is used. There are 5 different grades of sharpness. So, the weapon with lowest damage does 1d4 in damage and the weapon with the highest damage does 5d20 in damage.

Ranged Weapon Damage is two fold. One damage for the bow and another damage for the arrow being used. The bow damage is determined by: The Quality of the bow and the Bow String determines what size of the die it uses. This has 6 grades: d4-d20(just like above). 
The arrows is determined by 1.The Weight of the arrow. This determines what size of the die that is being used which has 5 grades where the smallest die is d4 and the highest is d12. 2. The Sharpness of the Arrow Head. This determines how many of that die you are using. The smallest damage being 1d4 and the highest being 5d12.

To read the full monolog about the Combat system, have a read here:

Origin of Magic
Magic can be understood, controlled and used. There is physical Magic and there is also a dimension called Magic or the Magic Plane. Physical Magic is the Fifth Element (The first four: earth, water, wind and fire). The Magic Plane is the Fifth Dimension (The first four: forward-backward, right-left, up-down and time).

The Fifth dimension works like a Control Plane for the first four planes. The Fifth Elements works like a control element for the first four element. The fifth element is the same as what the Plasma state is, where the smallest parts of the atoms roam free. This state of matter can be turned into any of the other four elements where Fire is the easiest one to convert Magic.

You can also create True Magic but then you need to have access to the Sixth Dimension. You get access to the different planes via your Remote Sense.

Magic in its use
Magic is used via spells. Either by spells you have created yourself or that you have learnt from other sources.

To read the full monolg about the Origin of Magic, follow this link:

If you want to read about all the different dimensions that exists in Seventh, you can find that here

I hope you enyojed the reading.


Create a free website or blog at